Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Ransom-Riggs

On a 5 star rating- 5 stars

So. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. About a boy who accidentally steps into a part of his “crazy ol'” grandfather’s past at an abandoned orphanage on a Welsh island. There he discovers that the stories and photographs his grandfather used to tell and show him of peculiar children when he was a young boy were true; Stories and photographs of children with special abilities to be invisible, or levitate, or control bees, and more. Throughout the books he will learn more about these people and their abilities and their way of living. He will also learn a lot about himself and his grandfather.

I finished this series a few months ago, so let me try to remember everything I liked and disliked about it…

Well, I really enjoyed the story and all the characters. It was such a fun and adventurous read. Perfect for tweens, teens, and adults. To me, everything was just so mysterious which makes you want to keep reading. I REALLY LOVED THE CREATIVE WAY RANSOM RIGGS USED REAL OLD PHOTOGRAPHS! It was such a genius idea and I got a real kick out of it. I love photography, I love vintage stuff, and I love to read. All these things drew me to this series. The images he chose for the books were great. I loved the weirdness, strangeness, oddness, eerie-ness, etc.. I loved the relationships. I loved the bit f romance in there (I did not think that it took over the main story which was a big plus) and the friendship-building. I loved the very courageous characters and the bad guys. I thought the bad guys were thought up very creatively. The only 1 barely-negative note I have to make is that the ending was not what I expected. From what I remember thinking at the end was somewhere along the lines of “was this the easiest way for him to end it?”. But at the same time as I was finishing up the last book I would try to predict the end and I had absolutely no clue. I think I just wanted the story to keep going, lol.

Also, the cover arts are FANTASTIC. Go get this series.

Leave a Reply

