The Ice Dragon by George R.R. Martin/Illustrated by Luis Royo

20160514_112815[1]

Dust cover and it’s hardcover.

the ice dragon

One of the illustrative pages.

On a 5-star rating: 5 stars!

I found this book in the bargain section at my local Books-A-Million store at the (small) mall and I scored it for only 5 bucks!

This is a children’s/teens illustrative book and my quick read for the weekend. George wrote this very simply and wonderfully. The main character, a young girl who befriends an ice dragon (freaking awesome), is writ pretty strongly. Though, the story is very short and to the point (for an adult), you still get a big sense of the girl’s life and capabilities. Because this is such a short story I don’t want to get much into detail and give anything away, but I really liked this story and I wished it continued. Beautiful story.

I would recommend this to any young person I know who likes to read. Plus, the pictures (by Luis Royo) are VERY nice. I really like this style of illustration for this book. It matched. The story and picture style suited each other, I thought. (I wouldn’t mind a couple of them blown up and hung in my house.)

I’m glad George wrote a less kill-y book for children. Kids should also enjoy his amazing stories đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

