Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

13267411_944978285621549_1648366047_n(1)

3 out of 5 stars

I say 3 stars, but sometimes while I’m reading I’ll get to a good part and I’ll think 4 stars. Anyway, ultimately I give it a 3 for a couple reasons. First being that this isn’t usually a type book I’d pick up. This is about a girl and her attempt at suicide and the thoughts of everyone involved in her life about the situation; And background stories of the characters. Second being it wasn’t really what I expected, story wise. I thought there might be more science involved.

The full 3 stars comes solely from the positive message it gives to those who are depressed and have thoughts of self-harm. That message basically being if you feel low in life and you only have negative views on yourself, know that there are others, there will always be others, who think differently. You may not see it, but SOMEONE sees light in you. There are many people in everyone’s life, whether they be close or an acquaintance or someone you’ve spoken to once or twice; just anyone you’ve crossed paths with, they don’t, and in some cases won’t, see all the darkness you might see in yourself.

Personally, I did not really care for the story. And I do not usually read through this genre (anymore). I enjoy exciting and magic-packed material, but then I also enjoy positive books. This one sort of put me down and I don’t like feeling sad. I try to avoid that feeling, lol. This book is just not for me, but I would recommend it to friends who like this genre.

On the very last page there is information for help for those who might want it; for those who might need it.

“If you or someone you know needs help, resources are available 24/7, including the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (1-800-273-TALK (8255) or http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org) and the Crisis Text Line (text LISTEN to 741-741).”

I would also like to throw in some credit to the cover artist. I LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

