The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

gap-of-time

4 out of 5 stars

This story is about jealousy to the extreme. This version of Shakespeare’s A Winter’s Tale is vulgar and somewhat sexual. I am not all that familiar with the original Winter’s Tale, so I can not really compare them. Sorry! But overall, Jeanette’s story was not terrible. I am not sure what it was that made me want to keep going, but it wasn’t boring so I managed to just glide through to the end. It wasn’t my usual excitement that I love in stories, perhaps the offensive (a term used by a couple other people who reviewed this book) drama was refreshing from the romance I have been reading lately.

Thank you, again, to Blogging for Books for the endless opportunities to receive free copies to review. It has all been so amazing so far <3.

Follow me on Instagram if you wish: mandyreads_mandywrites

Thank you for stopping by and have a great halfway-to-the-weekend day 🙂

10 thoughts on “The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

    • I read the same thing somewhere, that this wasn’t one of [somebody’s] favorites even though they love her. This is my first book from her. What is your favorite from her? I love her writing style and wouldn’t mind checking out her best works. 🙂 Please and thank you!

      Like

      • Oranges are not the only Fruit and The Passion are my two favorites (thus far). I’d recommend those two but check out the reviews and synopses first to see if they sound like books you’d like. Let me know if you end up reading them, and what you think!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve read Winterson’s “Sexing The Cherry” and I must say, everyone cannot understand her narrative very easily. She has dealt with the concept of queer theory in that book.

    Thanks for sharing this review. I might want to read this book as my next read.
    Cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

