The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the-5th-wave

4 out of 5 stars

This is in a world that is invaded by aliens. Your BODY is invaded by them, for years it has been and it is almost too late to save humankind.

Sometimes when reading young adult books I have to remember to think about how I think I would have liked it if I were still in high school and I think I would have really enjoyed it. I give it 4 stars because there were times when Cassie, the main female character, would seem a bit too whiny and silly, but it didn’t ruin my want to read further. I do have a favorite part that she is in where I totally applaud her, so she wasn’t TOO bothersome for my taste.

The other characters were very good. Strong, brave, clever. I love a good story with total badasses and there are quite a few in here. I was hoping there would be more excitement, more action. However, the scenes where there was action some of it was awesome and intense. I think I do have a favorite action scene where I was thinking to myself “dayuuuum!”, lol. It involves Evan Walker sneaking up on soldiers in the woods. If you’ve read this this might have also been a memorable scene for you, too. If you have not read this yet, well then… get on it. It was a pretty awesome moment.

To be honest, there was just enough to keep me going. It wasn’t boring, but it wasn’t bad. To me, it was just good. A good series all the way through. Where there were interesting things going on it captivated my attention. Where there were feelings and emotions being expressed I didn’t care much for some of them.

I would definitely gift this to high school family members or friends who like to read. There are some romantic scenes in there and I have to admit a lot of those did sort of make my heart flutter, lol. I felt like a teen-aged girl again being flirted with 😛

And of course I have to comment on the cover arts… BECAUSE I LOVE THEM.

Leave a Reply

