Ways of Leaving by Grant Jarrett

ways-of-leaving

2 out of 5 stars

“A standout novel about going home, where old girlfriends, awkward funerals, deeply buried parental secrets and naked, drunken, nocturnal escapades irritate a man like scabs of his squandered youth and misspent adulthood…. Ruthlessly brilliant writing brings grace to a story smoldering in pain.” -Kirkus Reviews

I really wanted to like this novel. In some ways I did. I like the writing and I definitely don’t mind vulgarity and sexual scenes. It’s another type of excitement that I enjoy reading. However, the story was full of pain and questions, not pain, questions AND ANSWERS. At least not to me, not really. And it’s the answers that make a story worth a read isn’t it? I mean, in a book full of questions?

It wasn’t a terrible concept or anything, it just doesn’t help that depressing stories like this one isn’t my particular choice of genre, but when I do read it I always like a good ending. Not necessarily a happy ending, but one that ends with a “BAM, BITCH! END!” sort of feel, lol. This just sort of… ended.

What I did like about it was the writing style. Vulgar and dark. What I didn’t like was the main character. He was a straight up ass and I couldn’t stand him. Now, that may be exactly how Grant Jarrett wanted him to be, but that sort of character, with barely any character growth, is not my cup of tea.

Though, he does know how to write a good steamy scene or 5 😉

I hope I don’t discourage anyone from reading this if dark relationship problem type stories is their thing, but it isn’t mine. I do want to continue to follow everything else from him, though. I just get the feeling I will like a different book of his.

And I want to give credit to the cover artist. It’s upside down, including the “a novel”, and it’s just so trippy, lol. I love it.

P.S. This was one of my favorite books to take pics of, lol. It’s so pretty and cool and was great for summer color, summer vibe picture posts.  Also, this was one of the books I won from an Instagram contest from BookSparks. Even though I gave it only 2 stars I am still happy to have the chance to read it ❤ Thank you, Mr. Grant Jarrett and thank you, Booksparks.

2 thoughts on “Ways of Leaving by Grant Jarrett

  1. I really want to tell you how much I love your book photography! I just got started on my reviews, and I have so much fun with it myself. Yours are very inspiring!

    This book doesn’t sound like my cup of tea, but I enjoyed reading your review. Happy reading!

    -Sarah

    Like

    • My gosh, thank you, Sarah! That truly made my day! And I’m glad to hear that you have fun with yours. It really is a fun hobby 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

