The Darkest Light by Ashley Earley/ Fortunately, the Milk… by Neil Gaiman

7724986c95df043a2e63bdb40e14fd38

THE DARKEST LIGHT: 3 out of 5 stars!

For being Ashley Earley’s first published book it was good! What intrigued me to read this BEFORE her latest book, Alone In Paris (which is one of the books I plan to read this month, June) was that there was magic in it. The main character comes from two worlds: the world we live in and a world where a pure human will not find without the help of a magical being. Where there is a magical world, there are magical creatures. I was excited about that, except I felt like she wasn’t taking advantage of that. It could have been better in terms of battle scenes and grand landscapes and involvement with other magical beings and creatures, but I still was able to picture it all in my head as if I was watching a movie, which was a big plus. Now, where romance is involved, she’s got a real knack for that. My FAVORITE part and probably the only part that really touched me was the end where she discovers another love interest that could have been. Honestly, I had been waiting for that the whole way through and when I finally got it I was like “OOOH!!” *blushing* lol. THAT was a good part.

There were parts that seemed pretty repetitive and I thought I was reading a page over again. I don’t know what was up with that, I think she was just trying to get the characters’ points across, but it would confuse me whenever I would take a break from reading and then pick it up again. Or maybe it’s just me.

But overall, what I got from this is that she probably dreams of romance in the sweetest ways. And I can’t wait to get to Alone In Paris. Romance just might be her niche.

 

Fortunately, the Milk…: 5 out of 5 stars!! 

Oh, boy, where do I start…

I bought this book for my son quite a while ago hoping he’d read it on his own, which he never did (he was 6 at the time and now 7), so I started reading this to him at bedtime because I sort of really wanted to read this myself ( I LOVE NEIL GAIMAN), lol. So I’m reading, reading, reading, and my son and I got SO INTO IT! It is now one of his favorite books and one of my favorite books to recommend to my friends whether or not they have children.

It’s about a father. His kids tell him they need milk for their cereal, so he goes out for a walk to pick some up. The kids express that he is taking forever and when he finally comes back he’s got a good reason for it. AND THUS HIS STORY OF WHAT HAD HAPPENED TO HIM WHILE OUT GETTING THE MILK BEGINS!

They are quite exciting, funny, silly, and most impossible stories! My son has less than a handful of favorite books and this just made the list.

Leave a Reply

